AXMOUTH PARISH COUNCIL

Clerk: Annie Dallaway, Fairview, Southleigh, Colyton, Devon, EX24 6JA
Telephone – 01297 680244 E-mail - <u>clerk@axmouth.eastdevon.gov.uk</u>
www.axmouthparishcouncil.co.uk

An EXTRAORDINARY meeting of Axmouth Parish Council was held on Monday 19 August 2013, at 5pm at Axmouth Village Hall.

Minutes

Those present:

Cllr Carol Rapley (Chair)

Cllr Crescy Cannan

Cllr Alan Harrison

Cllr Glenn Hyde

Cllr Keith Lawes

In attendance: Annie Dallaway, Clerk

The Councillors were summoned to attend a meeting of the Axmouth Parish Council to discuss the following matters:

- 1. Apologies were received and acknowledged from Cllr Emily McIvor, Cllr Ken Steven
- 2. Declarations of Interests: None received.

The meeting ended at 5.45pm

3. To appoint a new Chairman – to receive nominations.

Cllr Rapley reported that the County Secretary of Devon Association of Local Councils had advised that it was not possible for a Councillor to become an employee of the Council within a year of standing down as a Councillor. Therefore it is not possible for Cllr Rapley to take up the position of Clerk to the Council. The Clerk will liaise further with DALC regarding the appropriate recruitment procedure in this situation.

Cllr Rapley advised that she wished to stand down as Chairman with immediate effect but would continue as a Councillor. Nominations were invited for the role of Chairman.

Cllr Rapley proposed Cllr Lawes and Cllr Hyde seconded. All members present were in favour of the proposal.

The Council resolved that Cllr Lawes would be the new Chairman of Axmouth Parish Council. Cllr Cannan will continue as the Vice-Chairman.

Councillors noted that if a Councillor moves further than 3 miles out of the parish during their term of office, they can remain as a Councillor until the next ordinary elections.

Date of the next meeting of the Parish Council Wednesday 18 September 2013.

· ·	
Date:	Chairman: